The Strip eliminates “the bad”

Sorry for my belated post and another thank you for those who visited my blog whilst nothing new came to The Strip.  Today i’m continuing in my efforts to become a healthier person by cutting out “the bad” AKA white bread.

When reflecting on my diet I can see a pattern of toast for breakfast and sandwiches for lunch – ALL white bread. With this coming to my attention I had to find out what exactly I was putting into my body and why this particular food is so nutritionally shameful.
White bread = dead bread. The flour used to make white bread has been chemically BLEACHED – just the kind that you would whiten your clothes in. Virtually all of the minerals and vitamins that could be found in bread have been lost in the milling process when removing wheat germ and bran. About 50% of all calcium, 70% of phosphorus, 80% iron, 98% magnesium, 75% manganese, 50% potassium, and 65% of copper is destroyed. If that is not bad enough, about 80% thiamin, 60% of riboflavin, 75% of niacin, 50% of pantothenic acid, and about 50% of Pyridoxine is also lost!

All of these important nutrients have been lost and yet I still came across numerous sites that informed me that white bread is perfectly healthy. As I read further into the new findings, their only support for this claim was that many of the loaves you buy in the supermarket have added nutrients and that it is relatively low in calories. I don’t know about you but I’d much prefer bread with its original properties rather than additives I fail to pronounce. The second supporting argument of bread averaging on 80 – 90 calories per slice being ‘low cal’ made me laugh. As most people would have a sandwich consisting of 2+ slices of bread (depending on number of sandwiches) rather than the single-sliced “open” sandwich – the calories really do add up!

Searching for the opposing argument for the “bread is low-calorie” debate I came across a certified study on the effects of what bread has on the body. US research has found that white bread leads to expanding waistlines! When conducting a study on 459 healthy Americans the researchers looked at 5 different diets: healthy-food, alcohol, sweets, meat & potatoes, and white bread; and found that those who predominantly ate white bread saw the largest rise in waist measurements. It also spoke of how these particular carbohydrates that are found in processed foods break down quickly during the process of digestion, have the highest GI value and raise blood pressure and glucose levels.

This search has opened my eyes to the process behind white bread and why it is so infamous. From now on i’m not going to waste my time consuming empty calories that are full of additives… I’d rather have nothing at all.

About thisisthestrip

20 - Sydney - Student
This entry was posted in Health/Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

