The Strip becomes super healthy?

Today I went to the supermarket and bought a container of almonds and packet of green tea in an effort to get healthy and lean. I am aiming to drink around 2L of water and completely ditch sugar-loaded drinks, because I think I drink far too much of that!

I have never been one for hot drinks (hot chocolate included) so I am making a strategic effort to try and warm-up (pun not intended) to the idea so that when I move into inner Sydney I can actually go and ORDER a drink at a cafe! I love the idea of cafes, and chats over a coffee or tea; so I guess there is no better place to start than with green tea and my new nutritious lifestyle. A lot of people do not like green tea, and I highly doubt that I would be any exception… so as I sip and forcibly feed myself tea, through my head will be running all of the benefits it has until I become accustomed.

There are many health benefits that green tea have including:
– eliminates toxins from the body
– absorbs, blocks and decreases cholesterol
– helps prevent heart related conditions within the body
– works to normalise blood pressure levels
– helps to fight bacteria and viruses
– improves the condition of the intestines by blocking bad bacteria and increasing levels of good bacteria
– can assist in weight loss
– slows the ageing process
– helps to strengthen the immune system
– contains heaps of antioxidants
– & apparently hydrates you better than water?

From Women’s Health online magazine I found out that green tea is a “super power” as it:
MELTS BELLY FAT
Overweight and obese adult exercisers burned seven per cent more abdominal fat when they drank caffeinated green tea compared with other caffeinated beverages, according to a study in the Journal of Nutrition.
KEEPS TEETH HEALTHY
Drinking two or more cups of green tea a day is associated with a lower risk of tooth loss, reports a new study in the journal Preventive Medicine.
LOWERS BMI
People who drink two or three cups of green tea a day report a lower BMI and body weight, according to a University of Connecticut, US, review.
PREVENTS STROKE
Three cups a day lowered stroke risk by 21 per cent, found a 2009 US study.
REDUCES THE CHANCE OF SKIN CANCER
Green tea can help repair DNA damage caused by UVB rays and lower risk of melanoma, according to an animal study in Cancer Prevention Research.
DECREASES LUNG CANCER RISK
In a recent study, Taiwanese researchers found that drinking more than a cup of green tea a day reduced people’s odds of getting lung cancer, regardless of smoking status. In fact, non-smokers who drank green tea daily had five times less risk compared with their non-sipping peers.

Twinnings Green Tea (p.s. I want to buy a cup and saucer tomorrow)

 The second thing I bought was almonds – raw/unsalted. I have never really eaten almonds before but after reading all of the nutritional benefits it gives your body, I had to buy some and test them out.

They are:
– rich in dietary fibre, vitamins, minerals, and numerous health promoting phytochemicals
– a rich source of energy and nutrients
– gluten-free
– full of vitamin E which is a powerful lipid soluble antioxidant, required for maintaining the integrity of cell membrane of mucus membranes and skin by protecting it from harmful oxygen free radicals
– full of B-group vitamins
– they are also rich source of minerals like manganese, potassium, calcium, iron, magnesium, zinc and selenium
– reduce the risk of heart attack
– regulates cholesterol
– excellent for you skin, nails and hair
– aids weight loss as it suppresses your appetite and prevents over-eating
– boosts energy thanks to the presence of magnesium, copper and Riboflavin

So, here’s to tomorrow!
(To the person who tried to search my blog and one of my posts under the name of: “home sweet home striptease” – you made me giggle. Just FYI the blog is called The Strip, and thanks for reading 🙂 )

 
About thisisthestrip

20 - Sydney - Student
This entry was posted in Health/Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

